2024 CAI Photo Competition


It’s that time of year. Most of us have hung up our sailing boots for the winter, evenings are getting darker and Christmas is approaching.

With more evening time on your hands, now is the time to go through your photos from the season and pick out your favourites. The 2024 Photo Competition is just around the corner and will approach fast. The competition is anticipated to close for entries around the the end of January. The competition is restricted to current members of the Cruising Association of Ireland. Membership at €30 is a very modest fee though – see membership pages on this site.

We hope to announce more details soon, but get prepared – now is the time to get on your computer and look through your photo archives !

Last years competition was a great success, with some great quality entries and some fantastic prizes generously sponsored by CH Marine. Details below show the quality of last years entries and the perpetual trophy being awarded to last year’s winner John Murphy. Don’t be intimidated by the quality of last years winners though – these were all taken by casual and amateur photographers. Whether by accident or intent, most of us have some great photographs hiding on our hard drives if we take the time to go through them looking for the hidden away gems. Everyone has a great chance of winning some great prizes !


Above: Simon Parker (Commodore, Cruising Association of Ireland) presenting the winner of the CH-Marine sponsored CAI Photo Competition with the perpetual trophy for the overall winner. This overall trophy was presented at the recent CAI Greystones Rally. The CAI Photography competition 2023 was organised by a small sub-committee. Among the committee, entries were received and managed by Eugene Langan (Professional Photographer), and judged by Margaret & Paul Fay who are also enthusiastic photographers. Our thanks go to Nicholas Bendon, MD of CH Marine who enthusiastically sponsored the prizes with CH Marine vouchers for the winners.

Last Years #1st Prize Winner – John Murphy – “Caledonian Canal Evening” – recipient of a €75 CH MARINE Voucher


Above: John’s winning entry was taken in a panoramic format on a calm evening in the Caledonian Canal showed some great colouring and water reflections in the warm evening sun. These are some of the great moments on members cruising trips.

Last years 2nd Prize winner Clifford Brown – “Choppy” – recipient of a €50 CH MARINE Voucher


Above: Clifford Brown’s image shows fellow CAI member Mike Kelly’s Moody 38 Jigsaw working hard to windward under motor and sail in a brisk wind on one of the CAI cruising-in-company rallies.

Last years 3rd prize went to Aeden Coffey – “Loch Tarbert, Jura” – recipient of a €50 CH MARINE Voucher


Above: Aeden Coffey’s panoramic image of a beautiful anchorage in settled conditions while sailing among some great Scottish cruising grounds at Loch Tarbert north of Islay and on the west side of Jura

Last years 4th prize went to Simon Parker – “Friends Dropped In” – recipient of a €25 CH MARINE Voucher


Above: Simon Parker’s extensively renovated 1973 Westerly Pentland ASILE drawing attention from friends dropping over to visit while afloat. Some of you will recognise Gail McAllister who worked tirelessly for many years in the Irish Sailing Association with a great emphasis and support for the cruising company

5th prize was won by Cian Gallagher last year – “Spinnaker at dawn” – €25 CH MARINE Voucher


Above: Cian Gallaghers “Spinnaker at dawn” captures a beautiful image of a Yacht on the horizon under spinnaker in the early hours. Not many of us up at this hour !

Best VIDEO was won by Brian Rafferty last year – “Fougere Arrives in Style” – €75 CH MARINE Voucher

Last year there was a fledgling Video category for short video clips. Brian Rafferty took this prize with his short video taken aboard Fougere among the Aran Islands. It narrates with clear sound and video their approach to the Gregory sound between Inishmore and Inishmaan under Spinnaker while escorted by a pod of dolphins


2023 CAI Greystones Rally Dinner in Bochelli’s where the overall Trophy was presented to John Murphy