CAI Save the date calendar

Events in 2023

Here is a reminder of the Association’s programme of events for 2023. Follow links for more details, including a report on the event where available.

Last updated Wednesday 10 January 2023

Enquiries to events@cruising.ie or any committee member.

January: Photography Competition

Closed for submissions. Results at the AGM.

Saturday 11 March: Irish Sailing Conference

We support this event, and since this year’s conference is in Crosshaven we look forward to meeting cruising sailors on the south coast.

February and March: Cook your hearts out

A friendly inter-club team cookery competition.

Saturday 4 March: Annual General Meeting

Formal meeting followed by dinner, hosted by the Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club. Motions and nominations should be with the Secretary by Friday 17 February (rule change proposals by Tuesday 31 January).

Saturday 8 April: Greystones Rally

Sail to Greystones Marina on Saturday, dine ashore at Bochelli’s restaurant, sail home on Sunday.

Saturday 13 May: Malahide Muster

Joint event with Malahide and Howth Yacht Clubs. Sail round Lambay Island, berth in Malahide Marina, barbecue at MYC, sail home on Sunday.

Saturday 6 June: Visit to TS Leader

Monday 12 June: Summer Cruise North

Inner Hebrides including Port Ellen, Oban, Tobermory and Gigha, starting in Bangor.

Saturday 24 June: Summer Cruise South

An opportunity for members based on the South Coast of Ireland to cruise in company from Cork. East coast fleet sails out and back together.

Saturday 8 July: Kish Rally

Meet at the Kish lighthouse on Saturday, sail to Dun Laoghaire, eat ashore in the Royal Irish Yacht Club, sail home in the evening or on Sunday.

Saturday 5 August: Bank Holiday Cruise

Sail to Arklow Marina on Saturday, dine at Arklow Sailing Club on Saturday or Sunday, sail home on Monday.

July or August 2024: Women at the Helm

Organised by Irish Sailing in Dun Laoghaire on a date to be announced. We support the event by inviting guests or crew to take the helm. (This event is organised every two years)

Saturday 2 September: Three Bridges Rally

Parade up the Liffey through three open bridges, berth at the river pontoon, dine ashore, sail home on Sunday.

Saturday 18 November: End of Season Dinner

Dinner and social event to celebrate the season, hosted by the Royal Irish Yacht Club.

Last year’s programme: Event Dates 2022

Next yearEvents 2024